‘Jab Mein Tha Tab Hari Nahin’ – Kabir (1440 – 1518)

.
.

Where I lives, there Hari cannot be
Where Hari is, there is no me
And so fled the obscuring night
When I at last perceived this light
.
.
Jab Mein Tha Tab Hari Nahin, Jab Hari Hai Mein Nahin
(when I was then hari [is] not, when hari is I [am] not)
Sab Andhiyara Mit Gaya, Jab Deepak Dekhya Mahin
(all darkness erased was, when [this] light saw I)
.
.
Hari (one of the names of Vishnu) is synonymous for the divine; god; truth. According to Kabir, the ego (I, me) is the main obstacle in the pursuit of spiritual truth.
.
.

Leave a Reply

