Maybe

.

That gorgeous life I’ve witnessed from afar:
Of riches, beauty, sex, and fame;
Of robust wealth, of hearty health
And of living life as it were a game.

All the things I’ve always wished for,
Maybe I’ll get to do next time.
Maybe I’ll win at sport, or get acclaim;
I might cure cancer, or maybe I’ll end crime.

Maybe my parents, next time around, will
Be proud of what I’m worth,
Or my children will think I’m a superhero
And my wife that I’m a god walking the earth.

Maybe next time it won’t turn out so trite,
Maybe next time I’ll get it right.

.

Leave a Reply

