A Doha by Sant Kabir Das (1440-1518)

.

For when I sought evil out in the land,
Evil I did not see
But when my own heart I scanned,
I found it lurked in me

.

.

Bura Jo Dekhan Main Chala, Bura Naa Milya Koye
Jo Munn Khoja Apnaa, To Mujhse Bura Naa Koye

.

The ultimate declaration of humility. In this sublime doha, Kabir Das distills the essence of spiritualism – he recognizes the ego for what it is: the source of evil. By owning moral responsibility, the world automatically becomes a morally good place; by accepting evil as a consequence of letting one’s ego take the reins, one takes the first steps into a better world.

The couplet is one of the many pearls of wisdom in the great necklace of pellucid utterances that Kabir bequeathed to the world. I’m proud to know it in the original tongue.

Leave a Reply

